Men's Clay Court Championchip
Men's Clay Court
April 6-14 2019
Men's Clay Court
April 6-14 2019
ATP ribbon
April 6-14 2019

Sock Leads Five Past Champs Into Field

The initial entry list of 22 players for the 2017 Fayez Sarofim & Co. U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship was announced on March 1, and the lineup includes five former champions.

Two-time and defending champion Juan Monaco will be joined by former winners Jack Sock (2015), Fernando Verdasco (2014), John Isner (2013) and Tommy Haas (2004) at the April 8-16 tournament.

There are eight Americans in the field that includes players from 10 different countries. Joining Sock and Isner will be two-time finalist Sam Querrey, Steve Johnson and Donald Young as well as a trio of ATP “Next Gen” players – Taylor Fritz, Frances Tiafoe and Jared Donaldson.

Ten players in the field have been ranked in the Top 25 during their career, including five – Haas (career high No. 2), Verdasco (No. 7), Isner (No. 9), Monaco (No. 10) and Kevin Anderson (No. 10) – who have reached the Top 10.

Already this season, two entrants have won ATP titles. Sock is co-leader on the ATP with a pair of titles in 2017 (Auckland and Delray Beach) while Victor Estrella Burgos won the clay court event in Quito for the third year in a row.

Click here for the full list of initial tournament entries.

Four players will join this field through a two-round qualifying tournament April 8-9 at River Oaks. In addition, the tournament will award two wild cards.

The doubles field will be announced in late March. That field already includes six-time champions Bob & Mike Bryan as well as reigning French Open champions Feliciano Lopez (who is also playing singles) and Marc Lopez (no relation).

Limited tickets remain available for the 2017 event. Click here to find out more

Title Sponsor

  • Fayez

Presenting Sponsors

  • Lexus

Major Sponsors

  • H-E-B
  • UBS
  • Tenenbaum&Co.
  • Memorial Hermann
  • Opportune
  • Emirates
  • Urban Living
  • Comerica
  • Western Airways